Horseless DBA

Mark and I had a game of DBA on the last day he was here. I didn’t take any notes while I was playing, nor did I photograph every turn,  so the details of the battle are a little sketchy… but I liked how the photos turned out. One pair of armies I enjoy using from time to time are the Early Hebrews and the Early Bedouins (the 1499-1000BC variant). They’re a neat pair because there is only one mounted element between them, and no heavy infantry. Mark took the Hebrews and I took the Bedouins. I was the defender. I went with my usual choice of terrain when I have the Bedouins – rocky ground, dunes, and an oasis. This choice is purely for aesthetic reasons!

The Bedouins, on the left, face the Hebrews.

The Bedouins, on the left, face the Hebrews.

Mark went for a double envelopment, sending a force through the oasis, with another detachment in the rocks.

Mark's attack on my right flank

Mark’s attack on my right flank

And showing off the macro on my new camera. Those Museum Israelites really do look like they're brandishing bratwursts.

And showing off the macro on my new camera. Those Museum Israelites really do look like they’re brandishing bratwursts.

Mark managed to contact the flank of the skirmishers I had on my left, but on the right I managed to bolster my line with the troops I’d stationed in the dunes.

The battle lines meet

The battle lines meet

Although Mark predictably destroyed the troops on my left, he didn’t manage a ‘ripple of death’ and my troops managed to make a gap in his line and redeem the situation on my left. The two battle lines were very disrupted by this stage but I was the luckier one in being able to capitalise on that and pick favourable matchups.

Nearing the end of the battle, the Bedouins are starting to roll up the Hebrew line.

Nearing the end of the battle, the Bedouins are starting to roll up the Hebrew line.

We both really enjoyed the game, and we spent a while afterwards leafing through the DBA army lists to see if there were any interesting armies from that period that I could throw into the mix. The difficulty is finding one that wouldn’t overmatch these two armies with their chariotry. The Canaanites and Egyptians would trounce both of them. Maybe a Makkan army, with their mix of camelry and warband, or the unspeakably bland Later Aramaeans. The former would be a good army for me to have because I don’t have any warband armies yet, but it’s a long way from Bahrain to Judea. The latter would be helped by a fancy paint scheme, and they would go toward my sketchy very long term plan of putting together a New Assyrian DBMM army out of DBA armies.

2 responses to “Horseless DBA

    • Thanks. They can win, with good luck and good judgement, against some of their historical opponents at least. I’ve not tried them against the Assyrians – that would be a real cat and mouse game. What figures are you using? I had a look around for the Venexia ancients but Sgt Major Miniatures (I think it’s them who bought the range) don’t seem to have done anything with them.

What do you think?

