Work in progress

Today I managed to finish the bare minimum of terrain I’ll need to play Chain of Command.

My North West Europe terrain

My North West Europe terrain

And from another angle.

And from another angle.

The trees are Woodlands scenics, on bases by Miniature Scenery. One day I will get to work on some MDF with my jig saw, but for now I’ve chosen to spend money rather than time on the bases.

The roads were done using this method – I wasn’t able to find £2.00 foam but this is still cheaper than bought roads, and it was pretty quick and easy to do.

Not shown are some nice rivers I have bought from Miniature Worldmaker.

I have made two sorts of hedgerows. The more time consuming method is using hacked up $2 Shop kitchen scourers, mounted either on craft shop tongue depressors (for low hedges), or on wooden mouldings from the hardware store for a bocage look. I then covered the scourers with a JTT poly fibre for most, and a few with Woodland Scenics ‘foliage’ (this is poly fibre with flock pre-glued to it). Both give a really effective look but it ends up being a little pricey if you’re making lots of hedgerows. My cheaper and quicker hedgerows were made using some kind of industrial strength scrubbing pads I got from a hardware store. I think they are some kind of really hard plastic – I found that the only tool I had that could cut them was garden shears! I’ve sprayed most of them with a lighter green paint from a rattle-can to try to change the colour from that green that scrubbing pads always seem to be. I’ve glued a few small Woodland scenics trees in amongst them. You can see both types in the pictures below. I’m pretty pleased with the results, although they are a little dark compared to the crush-dyed bedsheets I’ve used for the ‘grass’.

Finally I’ve included the ubiquitous doormat wheat fields. I tried drybrushing and spray paint to try to make them look more like fields than doormats, but neither was really successful. I’ve settled for painting the edges brown and flocking them.

I’ve aimed for somewhere between 15 and 25mm scale for the terrain. The trees I’ve made are not too tall but they do look too bulky for 15mm. I have a lot of model railway trees that I’ll use for 15mm games.

A section of 1/72 British infantry heads toward my 2nd hand Waterloo Farmhouse.

A section of 1/72 British infantry heads toward my 2nd hand Waterloo Farmhouse.

Some Battlefront 15mm figures and JR Miniatures buildings

Some Battlefront 15mm figures and JR Miniatures buildings

There is still some terrain that I want to have done before I start playing – mainly evidence of human habitation such as buildings and fences, but I will do some figures next just to break things up.

 

What do you think?

