Landsers

After a few weeks of painting, I’ve finished a basic late WWII German platoon for Chain of Command.

My basic German infantry platoon - mostly Plastic Soldier Company

My basic German infantry platoon – mostly Plastic Soldier Company

A closeup of the AB Figures Panzershreck team and rather overdressed Italeri leutnant.

A closeup of the AB Figures Panzershreck team and rather overdressed Italeri leutnant.

I have a few packs of Caesar figures, as well as the Italeri ‘Elite’ Germans, but they didn’t yield many figures for this platoon as they are mostly MP43, SMG, or cold weather types, so the bulk of these troops are Plastic Soldier Company (PSC). AB Figures were in the process of migrating to Australia when I did the shopping for this project, but I did pick up a few figures, including the very nice Panzershreck team you see above, from the Eureka stand at Little Wars. I may give those leaves a bit more drybrushing…

The PSC figures were nice and easy to paint. I’m not sure about whether I got the Litzen on their collars correct but they aren’t visible from more than 18 inches away, anyway. I had fun swapping a few of the figures’ heads with the spares that were supplied.

Once again I was surprised at how little I knew about the details of the uniforms and equipment I was painting, luckily there are plenty of militaria shops and reenactment groups that have articles on their websites about such exciting topics as breadbags and gamaschen.

This is enough for just the infantry platoon, with no support, so I have about 25 more figures to paint for the various support choices. When I move onto winter 1944 I’ll also paint up some of those MP43 and winter figures I mentioned earlier.

Next up is buildings and more terrain though…

3 responses to “Landsers

    • Thanks, I would have liked to give the italeri infantrymen (not the officer) a different colour for their uniforms because they are in the M44 tunics, which were in a browner shade of fabric. But I gave up trying after some experimentation so they are the same colour as the rest!

  1. Stephen,

    don’t worry about variant shades of feldgrau – there were always variation due to different dye lots, variable weathering etc. You could, if feeling insane enough, do everyone in a slightly different shade jacket – and trousers different again.
    I know I’m not that anal. But sometimes it seems close!

What do you think?

