A busy weekend

After the Nunawading Wargames Association AGM I managed to fit in a couple of DBA 3.0 games with Michael. I took my recently purchased Hittite Empire and Mycenaean armies along.

In the first game, I took the Mycenaeans. Michael sent his psiloi out onto the flank and I had the great pleasure of losing an element of heavy chariots to them. I really should have sent both the HCh on that flank over, to get them because they then embarked on an orgy of door closing that was an annoyance, but I still won the game.

The first game: my Nubians head for the dunes.

The first game: my Nubians head for the dunes.

Ignominy for some heroic charioteers.

Ignominy for some heroic charioteers.

In the second game I took the Hittites. Michael threw his psiloi out in front of my line this time, and although they were both destroyed, they prevented me from speeding down the table in time to block Michael’s troops in, and prevent his heavy chariots from deploying. It was during this game that we noticed that second rank support that adds +1 is not killed any more when the first rank goes, so the first game may not have been a victory to me after all, or at least it would have taken longer.

Hittites and Mycenaeans in the starting blocks for the second game

Hittites and Mycenaeans in the starting blocks for the second game

It was fun playing with those armies. I’ve never owned an army with enough pikes for me to judge what they were like, and now I have two. Obviously I will need to forget DBA 2.2 when I play DBA 3.0!

Chip came around on Saturday for a game of Chain of Command. Although we spent a long time chatting, we still managed to fit in a really fun game. Both sides deployed fairly quickly. The Germans (me) found it a little tricky coordinating themselves to get fire and movement going, and low movement rolls led to them providing target practice for the British a few times. Meanwhile Chip, playing the British, demonstrated what he had learnt on the Platoon Commanders’ course, and showed just how much realism these rules can deliver by executing fire and movement by the book. We’re looking forward to getting some vehicles painted, and Chip is working on a US platoon.

One of my gruppen which had been moving to the right, now head to the left after finding the going too hot.

One of my gruppen which had been moving to the right, now head to the left after finding the going too hot.

One response to “A busy weekend

  1. Interesting to read of your DBA 3.0 games. Many more locals had their first experience of DBA 3.0 over the last week with positive results. However, a supporting rank not being eliminated is a change that is easy to miss. The impact of recoils is another.

What do you think?

