(Mostly) ready for 29, Let’s Go!

Making the support weapons and vehicles for my German force for Chain of Command is taking a little longer than it did for my British, because there is actual modelling involved.

I finished the Marder a while back, the superstructure kept me up past my bedtime but I got it to fit eventually. There is a vision block on the right hand side of the upper hull which gets right in the way, so I sanded it off with my Dremel tool, and covered the mess by moving the lovely little etched brass toolbox from where the instructions had it to where I’ve seen it on photos of a real vehicle. I have so far only got around to basecoating the kit, in a fifty-fifty mix of Tamiya Dark Yellow and Deck Tan. The Deck Tan really works to dull down and lighten the Dark Yellow.

The Marder, now built and basecoated.

The Marder, now built and basecoated

I then moved on to the guns – a 50mm Pak 38, a 75mm Pak 40, and a very cute 75mm infantry gun (an le.IG.18).

The PaK 38, by ACE, is by no means a quick build. None of the locating pins are that keen to fit into their holes, and there is some requirement for fabricating parts out of wire, but after five nights I was pleased that both wheels and both trail legs are flat on the ground, and the sight is aligned with the hole in the gun shield. There are a few bits I haven’t bothered with – the elevating wheel on a handmade 5mm wire rod was never going to fit, and the four supports for the gun shield, which were also meant to be made from wire, are also not there as life’s too short for that.

An ACE PaK 38 with an AB PaK 40 crew

An ACE PaK 38 with an AB PaK 40 crew and a couple of hangers on

The Matchbox PaK 40 really was a quick build. It’s 1/76 scale, not 1/72 but it doesn’t look too small. It is missing a few details, but nothing that you notice from the distances you normally look at models from when they are on the table. The ACE le.IG.18 was another tricky little build, and mine has turned out a little bit wonky, but it’s still great fun to have a gun that tiny, made up of about 30 parts.

An ACE le.IG 18 and a Matchbox (Revell) Pak 40 nicely illustrate the difference between a gun and a howitzer

An ACE le.IG 18 and a Matchbox (Revell) Pak 40, both 75mm, nicely illustrate the difference between a howitzer and a gun

Because of time pressure, trying to get ready to play the first scenario of the 29 Let’s Go! campaign next Sunday, I’ve had to just block paint the guns for now, and I’ll go back and weather them soon.

I’ve also painted up a gun crew, an MG 34 in MMG mode, and a sniper. Obviously I’ll need to make some ammunition handlers that are more suitable for the infantry gun at some stage. Most of the figures are AB ones, from Eureka, but the sniper is a little (‘true’ 20mm) guy from CP models.

An AB MG 34 on Lafette mount, with crew

An AB MG 34 on Lafette mount, with crew

An AB Panzershreck team and a CP models sniper with scoped Gew 43.

An AB Panzershreck team and a CP models sniper with scoped Gew 43.

In order to populate the 29 Let’s Go! battlefields I’ve been busy basing trees and making a few more road sections, and I’m working on another couple of houses. I had to enlist my wife and kids to help with the trees and roads.

Slave labour was used in constructing the terrain

Slave labour was used in constructing the terrain

What do you think?

